Daily Inspiration : I.M. Pei

I.M. Pei, actual name, Ieoh Ming Pei was born on April 26, 1917.

27_impei_lgl.jpg
I.M. Pei

He is still alive. His 99th birthday was two days ago.

99 Years old!

That is a long time here on this earth. A really long time.

Yet, he has accomplished so much, he brings inspiration to many and livens up many environments through his works.

What is his profession? Architect.

What has he done?

Louvre_Museum_Wikimedia_Commons.jpg
The Louvre Pyramid
louvre-pyramid-night.jpg
Louvre Pyramid at Night

“I believe that architecture is a pragmatic art. To become art it must be built on a foundation of necessity.”

one-dallas-center2.jpg
One Dallas Center
053.jpg
Dallas City Hall

“Success is a collection of problems solved.”

I. M. Pei
bb6ebc48ee198f45594bc17c5958c44c.jpg
Miho Museum, Kyoto Japan

 

portada_94034rcuj7x-yzj-chcq.jpg
Miho Museum Interior, Kyoto Japan

“I want to bring out the best in a community and contribute something of permanent value.”

I. M. Pei
image.axd.jpg
Museum of Islamic Art, Doha
12.jpg
Museum of Islamic Art, Doha
Museum_of_Islamic_arts_SOP.jpg
Museum of Islamic Art, Doha
Museum_Islamic_Art_Doha_3470122137_354168dabf.jpg
Museum of Islamic Art, Doha

“I didn’t want to think about a project that I couldn’t finish. That’s a kind of temptation. One has to realize one’s limitations. Why kid yourself? ”

I. M. Pei

 

index.jpg
Museum of Islamic Art, Doha

“You cannot defend your design without knowing what you’re designing for.”

I. M. Pei
Museum-Of-Islamic-Art-Doha_7.jpg
Museum of Islamic Art Doha, Interior

“Let’s do it right. This is for the ages.”

I. M. Pei

 

 

Leave a Reply

